South Sudan Country Code +211

Country calling code +211

Alpha-2 Code SS

Alpha-3 Code SSD

About South Sudan

South Sudan (/suːˈdɑːn, -ˈdæn/), officially known as the Republic of South Sudan (Dinka: Paguot Thudän) is a landlocked country in East-Central Africa. It is bordered to the east by Ethiopia, to the north by Sudan, to the west by the Central African Republic, to the south-west by Democratic Republic of the Congo, to the south by Uganda and to the south east by Kenya. It gained independence from the Republic of the Sudan in 2011, making it the most recent sovereign state or country with widespread recognition. Its capital and largest city is Juba. It includes the vast swamp region of the Sudd, formed by the White Nile and known locally as the Bahr al Jabal (Arabic: بحر الجبل‎), meaning "Mountain Sea". Sudan was occupied by Egypt under the Muhammad Ali dynasty and was governed as an Anglo-Egyptian condominium until Sudanese independence in 1956. Following the First Sudanese Civil War, the Southern Sudan Autonomous Region was formed in 1972 and lasted until 1983. A second Sudanese civil war soon broke out, ending in 2005 with the Comprehensive Peace Agreement. Later that year, southern autonomy was restored when an Autonomous Government of Southern Sudan was formed. South Sudan became an independent state on 9 July 2011, following 98.83% support for independence in a January 2011 referendum. It has suffered ethnic violence and endured a civil war from 2013 until February 22, 2020, when South Sudan rivals Salva Kiir and Riek Machar struck a unity deal and formed a coalition government...

South Sudan Statistics

  • LAT/LONG: 7°51'22"N / 30°2'25"E
  • CAPITAL: Juba
  • POPULATION: 11,154,595
  • AREA: 610,952 Km2
  • GDP: $0
  • TELEPHONES: 2,200

How to Call South Sudan from the US (or Canada)

Trying to call South Sudan from the U.S. (or Canada)? These simple dialing directions will help you:

  • First dial 011, the U.S. (or Canada) exit code.
  • Next dial 211, the country code for South Sudan.
  • Then dial the area code (1–3 digits — please see a sample calling code list below)
  • and finally the phone number (5–7 digits).

Travel in South Sudan

  • LANGUAGES: English (official), Arabic (includes Juba and Sudanese variants), regional languages include Dinka, Nuer, Bari, Zande, Shilluk
  • CURRENCY: Pound ()

Population of South Sudan


Time in South Sudan



UTC/GMT +3 hours

Weather in South Sudan


City in South Sudan


Bank in South Sudan


Place in South Sudan


Top 10 website in South Sudan


SOS Telephone in South Sudan