South Africa Country Code +27

Country calling code +27

Alpha-2 Code ZA

Alpha-3 Code ZAF

About South Africa

South Africa, officially the Republic of South Africa (RSA), is the southernmost country in Africa. With over 58 million people, it is the world's 24th-most populous nation and covers an area of 1,221,037 kilometres (758,717 mi). South Africa has three designated capital cities; executive Pretoria, judicial Bloemfontein and legislative Cape Town. The largest city is Johannesburg. About 80% of South Africans are of Bantu ancestry, divided among a variety of ethnic groups speaking different African languages. The remaining population consists of Africa's largest communities of European, Asian, Indian, and multiracial ancestry. It is bounded to the south by 2,798 kilometres (1,739 mi) of coastline of Southern Africa stretching along the South Atlantic and Indian Oceans; to the north by the neighbouring countries of Namibia, Botswana, and Zimbabwe; and to the east and northeast by Mozambique and Eswatini (Swaziland); and it surrounds the enclaved country of Lesotho. It is the southernmost country on the mainland of the Old World or the Eastern Hemisphere, and the most populous country located entirely south of the equator (although Tanzania is not far behind)...

South Africa Statistics

  • LAT/LONG: 28°28'59"S / 24°40'37"E
  • CAPITAL: Pretoria
  • POPULATION: 59,085,343
  • AREA: 1,213,090 Km2
  • GDP: $348,871,647,960
  • TELEPHONES: 4,030,000
  • INTERNET HOSTS: 4,761,000
  • INTERNET USERS: 4,420,000

How to Call South Africa from the US (or Canada)

Trying to call South Africa from the U.S. (or Canada)? These simple dialing directions will help you:

  • First dial 011, the U.S. (or Canada) exit code.
  • Next dial 27, the country code for South Africa.
  • Then dial the area code (1–3 digits — please see a sample calling code list below)
  • and finally the phone number (5–7 digits).

Travel in South Africa

  • LANGUAGES: IsiZulu (official) 22.7%, IsiXhosa (official) 16%, Afrikaans (official) 13.5%, English (official) 9.6%, Sepedi (official) 9.1%, Setswana (official) 8%, Sesotho (official) 7.6%, Xitsonga (official) 4.5%, siSwati (official) 2.5%, Tshivenda (official) 2.4%, isiNdebele (official) 2.1%, sign language 0.5%, other 1.6% (2011 est.)
  • CURRENCY: Rand (ZAR)

    Type M South African plug

    • Mainly used in South Africa
    • 3 pins
    • Grounded
    • 15 A
    • 220 – 240 V
    • Socket compatible with plug type M

Population of South Africa


Time in South Africa



UTC/GMT +2 hours

Weather in South Africa


City in South Africa


Bank in South Africa


Place in South Africa


Top 10 website in South Africa


SOS Telephone in South Africa